Linux DynaMIPS + 4x3550s ???

Hi all,

I could scrape enough money together in the near future to buy 4x3550s and I was wondering how much mileage I could get out of using the 4x3550s in lieu of the 2x3560s + 2x3550s currently on the lab blueprint.

I can use DynaMIPS and the 2950 I currently have to break out to my 3550s.

Honestly, I need a lot of work in switching and was thinking that by the time I get to the point of appreciating the differences between 3550s and 3560s that:

1.  I will have enough money to either buy (or borrow) a pair of 3560s.  I already got a friend who is a target.

2.  They will be a bit cheaper.

3.  I would have developed my switching skill to the point where I could rent some racktime to touch up on the 3560-specific features.

I tried to rent some racktime, but the 5.5 hrs go by quickly when you are a total noob to switching and you are trying to understand the whole remote topology.  If I can go through the process of putting the topology together myself I feel I will be more intimately aware of my setup and can do more learning without the clock of racktime clicking.

Thanks in advance guys!

Comments

• Hey Mate,

I think if you had access to 4 3550's and no 3560's it wouldnt be the end of the world..  A couple of comments though.  Be familiar with the differences:

http://www.internetworkexpert.com/resources/ccie-3560-3550.htm

What sticks out for me is the qos differences and lack of private VLAN and IPv6 support.

Dont expect the secondhand 3560 prices to drop dramatically any time soon.  Thats just my opinion.  They seem to have held their value pretty well until now and I think will continue to for a while.  Unless everyone upgrades to 3750's or Cisco release another similar positioned device.. unlikely?..  So when you can upgrade two of your four 3550's to 3560's when you see a good eBay price..