MST (Multiple Spanning-Tree Protocol)

I am bit confiused about MST and need some clarification

Is it always a best practise to tie VLAN 1 (untagged in most production network) to Instance other than default instance 0 (CST) when using MST as choice or layer 2 loop prevention protocol.  I found youtube video on this topic and he does not really go deeper into this. Please advise

I am very new in networking and going for CCIE so if my question does not make sense, forgive me

av

Comments

• Sorry about previous post. I forgot to give you an example

For instance

I have vlan 1 as default untagged vlan in the network

All Access switches directly connects to Core with two links per switch

switchA-----2x 1gig copper----Core

switchB---2x 1gig copper-----Core

switchc---2x 1gig copper--Core

ALL THESE switches have 100 Vlans as example. If you look at the topology there is litteraly one spaning tree instance is needed since all edge switches directly connects to core with redundant links

In this case, I want to setup MST instead of running 100s of spanning tree instances per vlan and group them into two instances i.e

spanning-tree mst configuration

name TEST

revision 1

instance 1 vlan 1-50

instance 2 vlan 51-100

spanning-tree mode mst

spanning-tree mst 1 priority 0

spanning-tree mst 2 priority 0

I AM NOT TOO SURE AOBUT MAPPING VLAN 1 to instance 1 or if I should leave it default instance 0

• In my experience, I leave VLAN 1 in instance 0. I create as many instances as I deem appropriate. Remember that for every instance of MST you have a BPDU is sent, the instance # increments the priority, 32768 by default. So Instance 0 will have a priority of 32768, instance 1 will be 32769 and so on.