Prefix-list length value when specifying as source in RIP distribute-list

Hi,

Hope you can help, I am studying INE's RIP Adv. Technology videos at the moment. I am on the last RIP video regarding filters. My understanding of prefix-list "ge" & "le" values are they are referencing the subnet/length field of the RIP advertisement. See example:

R5(config-router)# distribute-list prefix ALL gateway NO_R3 in tunnel0

R5(config)# ip prefix-list NO_R3 deny 155.1.0.3/32

R5(config)# ip prefix-list NO_R3 permit 0.0.0.0/0 le 32 -> "le 32" why do we need this & what does it reference?

R5(config)# ip prefix-list ALL permit 0.0.0.0/32 le 32 -> "le 32" references the subnet/length field of RIP advertisement

If am configuring this example as per INE video, I am using two prefix-lists one for RIP routes we want to receive & another to specify the source of RIP advertisements. Obviously the second prefix-list to specify the source of advertisements will reference the source address field of the IP header, there is no subnet mask field in an IP header so why do we need to use "le" at the end of the syntax?

Any help is much appreciated.

Ken

Comments

• R5(config)# ip prefix-list NO_R3 deny 155.1.0.3/32

R5(config)# ip prefix-list NO_R3 permit 0.0.0.0/0 le 32 -> "le 32" why do we need this & what does it reference?

Hi Ken,

the gateway prefix-list is supposed to include all possible sources for that particular prefix except R3.

So in practice it works like this:

you exclude R3 with the first line (deny 155.1.0.3/32); with this line you are telling to the router to don't consider that particular host as a gateway.

The second line permit anything else, where /0 match 0 bit in the block and le 32 tells you that the subnet mask length may vary from a maximum of 32 to whatever lower value than that one.

So in practice you are saying admit any possible gateway except R3 address.

• Hi,

Thanks for your reply, but I do understand the syntax except "le 32" as mentioned below.