R&S passed in Brussels 2015-02-15 | CCIE #47033

Hi guys,

I passed R&S in Brussels on Sunday on the first try. It was such an epic experience.

Short history: I was a programmer, went into networking field ~3 years ago because I wanted to learn something I knew little about. Passed both CCNA and CCNP in 2012 and beginning 2013 I set a goal to be CCIE. I bought 4 3560 switches from ebay. I'm a Cisco instructor on our local academy since CCNP, so I had access to our lab, but it wasn't my own dedicated rack and I think that every CCIE needs to have a rack. I went virtual, first GNS/dynamips, then IOU and now csr1000v (best stuff). I started learning with CCIE goal in my mind in early 2013, stopped and started again multiple times but each time labbing something different, so during 1,5 years I labbed basically everything but forgot 60% of it :). In August 2014 I passed written after 2 weeks of hardcore (read 10+ hours each day) labbing using INE workbooks. Then I set lab date for something in the middle of February, told it to my friends so I cannot postpone it - worked better than if I'd paid it.

Since September, labbing was my daily activity, once a week I held a technical 2-3 hours long session in the work where I explained the particular topic in detail. In December I took vacation and unpaid leave until now which started an era of no social life. Since then I labbed 8+ (sometimes 16) hours a day, 6 days a week. I went once again through almost all INE vol1 workbooks (I skipped those parts I was very confident in - like layer2 access ports :D). I did one foundation lab, all the tshoot labs and 2 full-scale INE labs, I just scanned the 3rd one because I didn't have time for it. Of course I read all relevant sections from DocCD so I was sure I don't miss anything.

Lab trip: