Career Question

Sorry this isn't related to posting a job so much as it is a query of job opinions.

How did you all decide on what you wanted to do in terms of career advancment in networking?  I'm currently a senior network engineer in an operations division for a well known organization.  The pay is decent, but frankly I'm tired of scheduled maintenance during off hours and being the first line if inquiry whenever there's a problem.

Now I know maintenance and off hours work is often times part of the networking game, and I actually don't even mind terribly about a call at 2am.  I do, however, care about being asked constantly to do off hours work (3pm to midnight in my case).  How did you guys go about choosing your career paths and jobs in networking?  Did you always seek to go up the ladder?  Was money the biggest factor or work from home?  I'm curious.  I'm not sure what I want to do next after obtaining my CCIE.

Apologies if this is the wrong forum for a career-related question.

Thanks!

Comments

• Yeah I definitely delegate when smashed.  That's how I learned, so I pass it on to others.  The thing is, I basically found out that my current company won't pay me much more for obtaining a CCIE or moving positions altogether so it definitely is killing my interest.  That is why I'm trying to plan my next move.

I was told to put a list together of things I want/want to do, I just can't figure out what that position may be.  Let me know:

-Need the ability to telecommute/wfh from time to time

-Don't mind being on call, but don't want to deal with changes past 5pm unless breakfix from said call

-Would like to be involved in design/buildouts

• I'll research it but I think you're right.  The bottom line is I'm beginning to hate operations/break fix and love working from home.  Actual work.  I'm not a slacker.