CCIE study scenarios

Hi everyone

I work for an ISP for 13 years. I occupied various positions from UNIX expert to Network Engineer (mainly DC technologies).

At the moment, I work as an Infrastructure Architect for contact center solutions dealing with various concerns like network, OS, system virtualization, storage/backup...

I am CCNA, CCNP, CCIP, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC, VCP and EMCISA certified.

I have now the opportunity to sign a new contract with another ISP as a Core Backbone Network Engineer.

As I wanted to study for CCIE R&S, my question is:

What is the best scenario for me to study:

1) Stay with my current ISP, working 20% of my time on network technologies at work BUT 5min walk from home (so a lot more time to study at home)

2) Sign for the other ISP, working 100% of my time on network technologies at work BUT 1h from home (so less study time)

Thank you for your suggestions, thoughts or experience.

Comments

• Hi,

I would go with the 2nd one, but the choice of course is yours ;-)

• I would say go with the second option. The 1 hour less study time would be compensated with the experience gained from working with networking technologies. Its also depends on the direction your want to take in the future.

• I would say the second as well. There were technologies that I knew about and studied but until I moved into a position that actually used those protocols and technologies it hadn't 'clicked' yet. Once things 'clicked' it feels like 10 hours of studying a protocol is matched by 1 hour of learning it for the job.

• Option 2, i would use the 1 hour walk/drive/train to read or listen podcast/courses.. [:D]

• Well I gues I will be the odd ball then.  You have 13 years with your current employer.  This is not something to easily throw away.  The 2 main things to consider are

1) Money - which job pays better - keep in mind the cost of travel for the new job