CCIE R&S passed

Yesterday I passed the R&S lab in Brussels!

I've been working towards this for around 18 months, though only the last 9 of those were what I would call 'serious' study. This was my second attempt the first being v4 a few months back. Since then I've spent most of my time on the areas that I messed up in v4 (MPLS and multicast) and of course all the new topics. The first time I was incredibly nervous, didn't sleep well and made lots of silly mistakes on TS that just cost me too much time. I had taken a week off to study beforehand and honestly didn't find it that useful, I couldn't concentrate with the exam looming at the end of the week. I went to the hotel early but was just sat around wishing I could get into the exam. This time I just went as late as I could the night before to the hotel, made sure I'd done some excercise to tire me out and slept as soon as I got there, which worked out a lot better. I know some people like to spend a couple of days in the hotel before the exam and it's great if that works for you, but for me it was the total opposite.

There were I think eight people sitting various different tracks, three of us were doing the R&S. The environment itself was clean and tidy, large desks, pot of pens and the standard two sheets of paper, US style keyboard. I didn't have any trouble navigating the interface or finding routers etc, you start to learn where things are. Screen space was once again an issue even though the screen was massive and at a high resolution, and the mouse was terrible the left click was knackered. The proctor was nice, though I didn't have much to do with him as everything just worked for the most part. I didn't have any strange IOU issues or crashing devices.