Design knowledge for CCIE R&S engineer

Hello everybody,

I always have this question in my mind. How much design knowledge is good for a person having CCIE R&S certification. Off course CCDE is good. but its not easy to get. How about going for CCDP. Is CCDP level knowledge enough for a network engineer having CCIE R&S?  Network engineer with CCIE has most of the time design work as well. Please share your experience while being CCIE and not having any design certification level knowledge. Currently i am studying for CCIE R&S lab exam.

Thanks

Comments

• I think CCIE RnS/CCNP RnS etc provide a good hands on on configuration and troubleshooting and you are right, in the process a lot of them are also doing design work. Some people try to go for design before they can configure and troubleshoot and I find that moot i.e. CCDP minus CCNP RnS. CCDP RnS should be a good yardstick to  build on the experience  in configuration and troubleshooting and solidify your design experience(which you likely already have as a CCIE) and CCDE would then be taking it to the next level....note that unfortunately dumps tend to fuzz things up by creating false sense of confidence for alot of those P level exams but true Ps with experience should be quite strong.

• Hello everybody,

I always have this question in my mind. How much design knowledge is good for a person having CCIE R&S certification. Off course CCDE is good. but its not easy to get. How about going for CCDP. Is CCDP level knowledge enough for a network engineer having CCIE R&S?  Network engineer with CCIE has most of the time design work as well.

Thanks

Hi Murad,