Importance of debug and where to

Maybe this is my bad, but all the way through my CCNA, CCNP, and even CCIE R&S Written studies I haven't used the debug commands often or at all.  I felt most of the time I could get away with finding the information I needed to know with doing the different "show" commands.

Personally, what I think turned me off to debug is all the information that it puts out, and the stress of typing "u all" when my screen is being overrun.

There is also the problem of debugging locking you out of the console.

So now that I am studying for the CCIE R&S Lab:

1) How important is it to really know and use debug?  Is it absolutely essential for troubleshooting section?

2) Where do you think you can get away with just the "show" commands, and where is debug required?  (i.e. ... in trunking and STP "show" commands are enough, but in PPP you really need to use debug).

Thanks for your thoughts!

PS: I really did not see a high level discussion on this topic when I searched the forums ... if there is one, and I missed it, thank you for the link if you have it.

Comments

• peetypeety ✭✭✭

I survived the R&S lab with very little knowledge of debug as well.  However, I would say there are a few places it's useful:

1) I'm slowly becoming a big fan of leaving 'debug spann root' enabled on switches.  Otherwise, STP root convergence is a silent event. If root is moving around "a lot", you're still only talking once a minute at most with legacy STP, and if you have root moving more often than that in RSTP, you might deserve to have a flood of console info.

2) I think there's a hack to decrypting certain keys but I honestly can't remember what keys or how.

3) In the CCIE lab, I was a big fan of 'debug ip routing' - it's both a great way to know that redistribution is happening, and a great way to know that redistribution is going haywire.