5k vpc peerlink

hi guys,

newbie here,

not sure which nexus video i watched where brian mentions the point of not running data traffic over the vpc peerlink.

if i have take this out of contact i applogize.

is there any urls that reference this.

i've been task to config a "single-homed" vpc at the server level design with 2 5ks and a 40gig vpc peerlink between the two.

The edge asa firewall has been proposed as an active/ standby.

as i look at this design my question is :

won't the lacp active active traffic on the B side need to cross the vpc peerlink in order pass through the A side where the active ASA is connected?

should this be an issue?

or  due to the 40gig vpc peerlink this won't be a concern.

i'm aware of the new "evpc" that's available but that design concpet of the evpc has been shot down by management.

thoughts suggestions comments welcomed.

thank you in advance.

Comments

• The reason that you usually don't want traffic over the peer-link is because the aggregate bandwidth to the servers may be significantly higher than the peer-link.

If the ASA is connected to only one nexus, the traffic will use the peer-link, but if its connected to both nexus using vpc, the traffic will be forward directly...

You have 40Gb as vpc peer-link, it is really up to the environment to know if it will become the bottleneck or not... but using the peer-link to data traffic, probably won't scale that well.