CCDA - level of difficulty?

There hasn't been much discussion over this cert here. I have one general question now though.

I am currently studying for my CCIE Routing and Switching lab exam (passed my written), as I want to advance in my technical engineering career. However during my casual job search and several interviews later, I am finding that having a "Design" certification may convince prospective employers. I have always been involved only in the operations side of the business (i.e. fire-fighting) but not in the design/engineering side. I feel that this is tripping me up and causing employers to select other candidates with design experience ahead of me. Arguably, the design/engineering side has much better pay scale and working conditions and I have had enough fire-fighting, and wanted a change. My motivation for getting the CCIE R&S has always been there to propel me upwards, and I'm considering also getting a Design cert to see if I can make a move across.

I'm 1.5 years into preparing for my CCIE lab exam, and I am not about to give it up to go for the Design certs. But my question is, for a CCIE-wannabe, how much more effort will I have to give to pass a CCDA, which is the basic, associate-level Design cert? I'm comfortable with routing protocols and the like, and will it be something that will hopefully not take too much time out of my CCIE studies in order to pass the CCDA? After I obtain the CCDA, how much more effort will I have to do again to get the CCDP? Thanks for any insights you may share.

Comments

• There hasn't been much discussion over this cert here. I have one general question now though

I passed my CCDA and CCDP exams as way of recerting my CCNP - they are both tough exams!  The main reason is that they are non technical (not so much the ARCH) and require you to understand business requirements.

It may have changed now - but I found this challenge in comparison the the CCNP exams which were technical.