RTP R&S Exam Report - 2013.03.04

As I did not pass the lab this last time, I will save the details of how I studied until I have numbers.  However, I did have some questions that I couldn't find answers to before the lab that I thought I could post here.  If anyone has reason to believe any of this is covered by the NDA, please let me know and I will be more than happy to remove it!

Monitor / Workstation

• Monitor is ~23" diagonal, 16:9 aspect ratio running 1920x1080 resolution. You can change the resolution if you so desire
  • Monitor is mounted on a swivel mount to the back of the half-cube, and is fully adjustable
  • Keyboard and mouse are pretty standard, there is no wrist-rest.  I brought my personal wrist-rest and the proctor let me use it, but this may vary per-proctor
  • OS is WinXP.  Get used to WinXP's calculator, and the associated shortcuts for bin/hex/oct.
  • The taskbar will stack windows when the bar fills up.  You have permissions to turn this off, which I did.

DocCD

• Access was very quick.  All the sections I expected to be there, were there.
  • I did get blocked errors for a couple of product home pages, but nothing that wasn't hard to work around.
  • Browser is IE, everything is opened in a new window.  I could not figure out a mouse/keyboard combo that used tabs.  Right click and the File menu are disabled.
  • You CAN open and view PDFs for documentation.  This is really handy when looking for details on a command or if you can use keywords to find the section you want.
  • You can save notepad docs to the desktop.
  • You CANNOT save PDFs to the desktop that I could find -- no way to tell IE to Save Target... or File...Save As...

Items in the Lab

• The proctor we had allowed food and drink at the keyboard, no problem. 
  • I also brought gum, an extra pair of contacts, eye re-wetting drops, and snack food.