Consider procuring CCVP enroute CCIE Voice?

Hi Folks:

I would like to ask your advice and suggestion.

I am a Messaging guy and have installed and supported Cisco Unity 4/5 in enterprise scale; but that's as close I can get to sniff telephony. I started studying Voice in 2009 and attended the CCIE Voice course with only CVOICE and CIPT knowledge. I flunked and wasted my money. Last fall I bought the INE voice materials and built my voice lab as per INE topology. I have listened to the the CCVP and CCIE VOICE ATC and have almost completed my Workbook 1 labs. I will start my Workbook 2 end of this month. I have started to log my lab hours (suggested by voiceguru) and average about 75 hours a month.

My contract at work is due to come to an end I really would like to get into Voice technology. I don't have my CCVP. My initial plan was to go straight for the CCIE Voice certification. Some of my IT friends suggested that I should get my CCVP and keep working toward my CCIE. They said that getting a CCVP is much faster and that I would have a certification to show on my resume. But since my CCNA has expired, I would have to take my CCNA, CCNA(V), and CCVP. That would be 7 papers and $$$.

Should I ge get my CCVP or use the CCVP exam money toward my first CCIE Voice attempt / CCIE one week bootcamp? I also plan to look for a job south of the 49 parallel and perhaps a CCVP cert could be of some help.

Thank you for any suggestion.

ShaunP

Comments

• Shaun,
        As painful as it is to say, I think you should absolutely get you VP first (well, ccnp voice). Unfortunately, hiring managers want to see the letters unless you can show that you've been active in voice for X years.  Since its kind of a technical shift, you don't have that to offset the cert.  It's an obvious cost, but you need to think of it as an investment.  It will very likely help getting a position that will encourage, if not fund, the CCIE path.  

GL

Sent from my phone, apologies for any typos.