CCNP Voice Lab Equipment and study material

I just started studying for the new CVOICE 642-437. I don't have an ISR as I used a 2650XMs and a 3500 Switch (POE for the phones) and a few years ago to practice for the CCNA Voice Cert. Most of the posts I read now state an ISR is a must. Can I get away with one 2811 and a few 2650XMs , do I need a server as well ? Could someone suggest other equipment needed for all CCNP Voice Labs ( PSTN emulation equipment, servers, etc. etc. ), and which Lab study material would be best to accompany the CVOICE Cisco Press book by Kevin Wallace ? Thanks.

Comments

• Yes ISR is kind of 'must' for Cisco Voice for all implementations and designs so obvisouly for study as well.

For CCNP Voice simulating two sites would be enough (whereas three sites with comprehensive exercises are for CCIE Voice). The following scenario should be minimum for CCNP Voice:

SiteA:

One ISR (cheaper 2801/2901 with one VWIC2-2MFT-E1/T1 and PVDM2-32)

One Server (VM server basically, any VMware based whitebox would be enough. Customizing a clone PC would be cheaper)

One PoE switch (as you already have one 3550/3560 you can use it)

Two 6-line IP Phones (i.e. Cisco 7961/7962 phones, GE not necessary)

SiteB:

One ISR (preferable 2811/2911 with CME IOS, CUE ISM/SM, one VWIC2-2MFT-E1/T1 and PDVM2-32)

One HWIC-4ESW to connect phones on your router, or get any 2960 switch - PoE preferable

Two 6-line IP Phones.

PSTN site:

Use your 2650XM as PSTN simulator router, you must need to have 4-port E1/T1 ports (i.e. 2xVWIC2-2MFT-E1/T1) there. Use a cheaper 6-line 7960 phone as PSTN phone. Buying one switch/ESW module for PSTN site won't be worthy, better create a seperate vlan on the SiteA switch to connect your PSTN phone.