AIM-CUE ,formatted 1GB CF, reiserfs partition question.

Hi There,

I am studying for the IIUC exam and I think I've done something stupid :) . I removed the 1GB CF from the AIM-CUE module, Inserted it into my 2801 CF slot and did a "format flash:". After some research I found out that the AIM-CUE CF needs to have specific reiserfs filesystem and partitions. I can load the CUE installer image using the boot helper, however it seems to be stuck in a loop when trying to boot.

I managed to reformat the CF as a reiserfs and set the partition as 0x83 (linux) partition using ubuntu and a CF reader. However I just have it as a single 1GB partition. I read somewhere there needs to be 2 partitions, but I couldnt find out what size or type they had to be. Im guessing the 2nd partition needs to be reiserfs 0x82 (linux swap) ?

If someone could please let me know how I need to format the CF that would be greatly appriciated!:), I've pulled my hair out for the last 8 hours trying to figure it out (i've learnt a hell of a lot so i guess its not time wasted).

Here is the bootloader output of the loop it seems to be stuck in.

Initializing memory.  Please wait.
256 MB SDRAM detected
BIOS Version: Cisco SE-AIM 01.02
BIOS Build date: 08/14/03
System Now Booting ...[BOOT-ASM]
Please enter '***' to change boot configuration: 

Filesystem type is reiserfs,partition type 0x83
kf: a1 : (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
kf: a2 : (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
in grub_open: (hd0,0)/bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
in grub_open1: /bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
in grub_open2: /bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
in grub_open3: /bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim 1
in grub_open4: /bzImage root=/dev/hda1 ro plat=aim
 kernel_func: kt: 0
in boot func: kt: 0ÿ   <------------------- when it gets to gere it goes back to the "Initializing memory.  Please wait." and just keeps looping.

Thanks in advance for helping :) offering a $20USD paypal reward !! :)

Comments