General Comment

CCIE Candidates,

I have been studying for my R&S CCIE for a couple years now.  I have taken the lab twice and failed it both times.  The first time I took it was to purely extend my eligibility because the 18 month time frame was expiring.  I didn't study, I walked in there, did my best, and left.  The second time i took it, I studied my butt off and failed.  I, honestly, thought I nailed the thing, but, obviously, didn't.  I felt robbed of something I felt I deserved.  I read several posts from people that felt the same, which was comforting.

The reason I am writing this is because I see and read a lot of people bitching and complaining about the CCIE lab exam and how hard/unfair it is or can be.  After my first "real" attempt, I, honestly, felt the same way.  I was so sure that I nailed it that I requested a reread of my exam - the result was the same.  Unfortunately, I also see a lot of people using this forum as a vehicle to bitch at INE proctors about silly things and requesting somewhat ridiculous demands of INE.  

I was in the U.S. Navy at one point in my life, working as an IT.  I remember seeing Navy Seals come on board my ship temporarily and thinking, "Jesus Christ, those guys are incredible."  They commanded a huge amount of respect from EVERYONE because of all the training they went through and the experiences they had.  They are the top echelon of the military - not just the Navy.  The truth of the matter is, the CCIE exam is the IT equivalent of the Navy Seals.  if it was easily obtainable, it wouldn't command the respect it does.   The more I study now, the more I realize I wasn't prepared for the exam when I took it last.  This being said, I suggest we all buckle down, study our butts off, stop complaining about things we weren't able to obtain because of our own weaknesses, quit making silly excuses, and just knock the thing out.  Good luck!

-Erik